Search This Blog

Tuesday, January 13, 2009


While Spain's European Championship winning coach Luis Aragonés has been selected as the best coach of 2008 by the International Federation of Football History and Statistics Fatih Terim Turkish National team coach was third on the list.

The voting was carried out by 87 experts from across the world and Aragonés finished 107 points ahead of second placed Guus Hiddink, who worked wonders with Russia throughout the year.

Below the top two there is a drop down to the chasing pack, where Turkish coach Fatih Terim is in third, Argentina's Olympic Gold winning coach Sergio Batista is in fourth, and Germany's Joachim Low is in fifth.

The Best Coaches Of 2008 Chosen By IFFHS:

.1. José Luis Aragonés Suárez Martínez (Spain) 252 points
.2. Guus Hiddink (Russia) 145
.3. Fatih Terim (Turkey) 72
.4. Sergio Daniel Batista (Argentina) 62
.5. Joachim Löw (Germany) 48
.6. Hassan Shehata (Egypt) 46
.7. Fabio Capello (England) 38
.8. Gerardo Daniel Martino (Paraguay) 36
.9. Carlos Caetano Bledorn Verri "Dunga" (Brazil) 24
10. Marcello Lippi (Italy) 18
11. Slaven Bilic (Croatia) 17
12. Marco van Basten (Holland) 16
.+. Luis Felipe Scolari (Portugal) 16
14. Roberto Donadoni (Italy) 12
15. Samson Siasia (Nigeria) 11
16. Otto Rehhagel (Greece) 8
17. Jean-François De Sart (Belgium) 7
18. Marcelo Bielsa (Chile) 6
19. Giovanni Trapattoni (Ireland) 5

No comments:

Post a Comment